Industry News


Voters in the 2022 Archery Trade Association Board of Directors election retained a current Board member and installed two first-time Board members.

James McGovern, vice president of Rinehart Targets; Matthew Smith, president of SYKD Hunt; and Aaron Lucky, president of Easton Technical Products, Inc. were all elected by their peers during the recent election held Jan. 31 to March 1. 

Jeff Poole, ATA’s President & CEO, said the ATA will “call upon these representatives to help determine and influence ATA programs and the direction of the association. They will have a major impact on the future of our industry.”

James McGovern was re-elected to the Board after originally joining the Board in April 2018. He was later elected as the vice chair in 2020. He’s eager to continue working on behalf of members and hopes to help steer the industry toward profit and success.

“I’m happy to have been re-elected to the ATA Board of Directors by the industry and my peers,” McGovern said. “I look forward to serving the industry for my second consecutive term on the Board to tackle some key areas, like diversifying our revenue streams and growing the sport.”

Newly-elected Lucky and Smith said they’re ready for the chance to serve and dedicate themselves to the betterment of the industry.

“I’m grateful for the opportunity to work with the people at the ATA and within the archery industry to address the many issues we face,” Lucky said. “I’m excited to get started!”

Smith had similar feelings. “I am grateful for the opportunity to serve on the ATA Board of Directors,” he said. “I look forward to partnering with the Board to support and further-strengthen the archery industry.”

The four-year term for McGovern, Smith and Lucky will begin April 1, 2022, and end March 31, 2026. They will join Poole, the ATA’s senior directors and the current Board members at the 2022 ATA Board of Directors’ meeting held in Minneapolis, Minnesota, April 5-6. 

“I look forward to working closely with these Board members as we address many important issues facing our industry in both the near and far term,” Poole said. “They will join a talented group of Directors who have an impressive amount of experience, expertise and passion for our industry and its future. I’m confident their service will help make the ATA stronger.”

Departing the ATA Board are Tom Driffill of Hoyt Archery and Ben Summers of T.R.U. Ball Release Products. Driffill was appointed as the Hoyt representative on the ATA Board of Directors in 2020. He replaced former Hoyt president Randy Walk when he retired. Summers served three consecutive terms on the ATA Board of Directors beginning March 2006. He served as the Board’s vice chair from April 2010 to March 2016, and chairman from March 2016 to August 2020.

The ATA thanks Driffill and Summers for their time and dedication to improving the industry while serving on the ATA’s Board of Directors.

About the Archery Trade Association
The Archery Trade Association is the organization for manufacturers, retailers, distributors, sales representatives and others working in the archery and bowhunting industry. The ATA has served its members since 1953. It works to increase the recruitment and retention of new, current and once-active archers and bowhunters. It’s the driving force in defending, educating, and lobbying for the greater good of the industry and sport. The organization works to preserve and promote archery and bowhunting’s rich heritage to ensure active consumer participation, and successful manufacturing and retailing for generations to come. The organization also owns and operates the ATA Trade Show, the archery and bowhunting industry’s largest and longest-running trade show worldwide.

Related Articles

Back to top button